Hanna Elections – Primary August 19

Hanna primaries

The Primary Elections will be held on August 19th. Incumbent mayor Tony Poulos and contender Amy Payne have filed for the four-year mayor’s office. Only two names were filed for the two open seats on the council, William Klemola, who presently sits on the council, and Tracy Fowler. Candidates can be written in on the August 19th ballot. There is talk that Linda Wagner and Bob Patton are possible write-in mayoral candidates.

Of course, there will be more on the ballot than Hanna’s candidates. Republicans and Democrats will be choosing the candidates to represent them in the General Election in November. CLICK HERE for the roster of primary candidates on the state level. For a 2014 Wyoming Voter’s Guide put out by the Wyoming Secretary of Sate CLICK HERE.

Some Carbon County issues will be up for vote in the November general election. The Fifth Penny Tax (officially known as the One Percent (1%) General Purpose Excise tax) and the Two Percent (2%) County Lodging Tax are on the primary election ballot. CLICK HERE for information on the Fifth Penny Tax (provided by the Carbon County Council of Governments).

You can vote at the Hanna Town office on August 19th for the primaries and on November 4th for the general election. Polls open at 7 a.m. and close at 7 p.m. You need to register to vote if you moved here from a different county or you didn’t vote in the last General Election. INFORMATION ON REGISTERING TO VOTE


Comments are closed.